CEJ-IBA (Centre for Excellence in Journalism)

Winners announced for CEJ-ICRC Humanitarian Reporting Award 2017

KARACHI: The Centre for Excellence in Journalism at the Institute of Business Administration Karachi and the International Committee of the Red Cross are pleased to announce the winners of the "Humanitarian Reporting Award 2017."

The awards focus on humanitarian journalism produced in three categories: Mainstream Broadcast (Urdu); Mainstream Print & Online (Urdu); Mainstream Print && Online (English). News stories written or produced between November 1, 2016 and November 9, 2017 were eligible for this award and hundreds of entries from across Pakistan were submitted.

The panel of judges included Aamer Ahmed Khan, News Director Aaj Television; Munazza Siddiqui, Executive Producer at Geo News and Iftikhar Firdous, Bureau Head of The Express Tribune Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.

An award ceremony will be held at CEJ-IBA on December 15th, 2017 to honour the winners.

The winner and runner-up in each of the three categories are as follows:

Mainstream Broadcast (Urdu)

Khawar Khan, Geo News

Runner up
Umar Farooq, Voice of America Urdu

Mainstream Print & Online (Urdu)

Islam Gul Afridi, Akhbar e Khyber

Runner up
Fariha Fatima, ARY News

Mainstream Print & Online (English)

Shazia Hassan, Dawn Media group

Runner up
Ghulam Dastageer, Herald Magazine

  1. Facebook
  2. Twitter
  3. Instagram